One Day at the Pearly Gates

This is a scene I could imagine…

A line of people stand waiting at the gate and God himself (not Saint Peter) opens the gate, steps forward and embraces the woman at the front of the line. “Welcome home, daughter!”

She looks nervously around. “I never expected to be here. I mean, my life has not been very good… I sold my body on the streets to get drugs… you know, that sort of thing.”

God smiles. “I’m sure you did the best you could. Come on in!”

Behind her a man steps forward, back straight as God hugs him. “I have dedicated my life to your service. I pastored a church for forty years.”

God smiles. “I’m sure you did the best you could. Come on in!”

The next woman steps forward for her hug and greeting. “I’m so glad to get here.” Tears come. “I’ve waited so long.”

God smiles. “I’m sure you did the best you could. Come on in!”

A man steps up next, trying to step back again to avoid the hug, but is unsuccessful. He shakes his head ruefully. “I never believed in you… this… I always figured you were some sort of myth.” He hung his head. “I don’t deserve to be here.”

God smiles. “I’m sure you did the best you could. Come on in!”

****

The Heavenly Father, as most people refer to Him, is just that: a parent. To think that He would refuse entrance to any of His children for any past behaviors, is denying “grace”. There is no hell, no Satan, only the loving Father of us all.

Why then do so many Christians prefer to believe that the wicked, the evil, the grossly sinful, will not make it back into paradise? Why believe that this physical plane should in any way take precedence over the higher spiritual planes when it runs divergent to rational thinking?

Probably because that is what some religion wants you to think: that you can only get to the Father through their intervention. Only they have the ear of God.

It’s a nice fairy tale.

For them.

I suppose they need some reason to feel they are important, making a difference. We all need that sort of thing. It is a very human need.

And this is not to say that the world’s religions have not done good works. To many people, it is the only way they feel they can touch the Divine. That it makes no logical sense, matters not. Logic is an earthly thing, not based in the spiritual.

But we are all children of God, regardless of mindset, health, race, or religious conviction.

And we all get to go home.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

